Social Media Links


Join a Network

Click on Edit Profile and select one or more network.

Not a member? Join today at the Professional level.

Online Learning

In-depth information on collections, marketing, education and other issues impacting the field.

LGBTQ Welcoming Guidelines

These guidelines are intended to provide institutions and members of the museum community with a series of parameters, which they may consider when assessing how to provide the LGBTQ community—staff, visitors, management, and allies from all fields—with a welcoming experience.

Welcoming Guidelines Cover



LGBTQ Alliance Steering Committee

  • Mike Lesperance, Principal, Interpretive Planner, The Design Minds, Inc., Fairfax, Virginia

  • Jill Austin, Curator

  • Erin Bailey, Commissioner, Seattle LGBT Commission

  • David Blackburn, Site Manager, Hopewell Furnace NHS, Elverson, Pennsylvania

  • Michael Berlucci, Community Engagement Manager, Chrysler Museum of Art, Norfolk, Virginia

  • W. James Burns, Ph.D., Independent Museum Professional, Phoenix, Arizona

  • Barbara Cohen-Stratyner, Independent Museum Professional, New York, New York

  • Sarah Cohn, Evaluation and Research Coordinator, Science Center of Minnesota, Saint Paul

  • Blair Denniberg, Finance and Property Development, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland

  • Erik Dorfman, Ph.D., Director, Carnegie Museum of Natural History, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

  • Justin Estoque, (Retired) Executive Vice President and Deputy Director, The Autry National Center, Los Angeles, California

  • Daniel Forbes, Sheehan Gallery, Whitman College, Walla Walla, Washington

  • Paul Gabriel, Independent Museum Professional

  • Peter Gagnon, Independent Museum Professional

  • Annette Gavigan, Exhibits Registrar, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, California

  • Jason Hall, Curator, Battleship New Jersey Museum Memorial, Camden, New Jersey

  • Paul Hammond, Director, California State Railroad Museum, Sacramento, California

  • Jaden Hansen, President, Museum of Minnesota

  • Tim Hecox, Exhibit Developer, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland

  • Joe Heimlich, Ph.D., Executive Director, Center For Research and Evaluation, Center of  Science and Industry; Professor Emeritus, The Ohio State University, Columbus

  • Joel Hoffman, Executive Director, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Miami, Florida 

  • John Holton, Assistant Collections Manager, Spurlock Museum, Urbana, Illinois

  • John Jackson, Exhibition Designer, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, Missouri

  • Remko Jansonius, Deputy Director, Collections and Curatorial Affairs, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Miami, Florida

  • Julie Johnson, Ph.D., Program Director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia

  • Jerry Kajpust, Deputy Director For External Relations, Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay and  Lesbian Art, New York, New York

  • Ryan King, Digital Experience Designer, Smithsonian Institution, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery

  • Peter Kleinpass, Curator, South Dakota State Historical Society Museum

  • Christopher Leitch, Independent Museum Professional            

  • Michael Madeja, Museum Programs Assistant, American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  • Margaret Middleton, Exhibit Designer, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Hunter O’Hanian, Director, Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art, New York, New York

  • Matthew Ramirez, Museum Exhibitions, ‎Geoffrey M. Curley + Associates, St. Paul, Minnesota

  • Randy Roberts, Ph.D., Deputy Director, Manetti Shrem Museum, UC Davis, California

  • Chris Rudisill, Executive Director, Stonewall National Museum and Archives, Wilton Manors, Florida

  • Davin James Sokup, Independent Museum Professional

  • John Suau, Executive Director, The Historical Society of Washington, D.C.

  • Matthew Toland, Assistant Director, The Campbell Center For Historic Preservation, Mount Carroll, Illinois

  • Rachel Tooker, Director, Roseville Utility Exploration Center, Roseville, California

  • Renae Youngs, Director of Research and Evaluation, Minnesota State Arts Board