Speak Up for Museums: The AAM Guide to Advocacy

Advocacy bookSmart, practical advice on how to be an effective advocate.

Congressional Awards

The Alliance presents awards to members of Congress who have demonstrated exemplary support for museums. Nominations are accepted from the museum field each year and awards are presented during Museums Advocacy Day events.

Past Honorees


 Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)
 Representative Tim Murphy (R-PA)


 Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO) 
 Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
 Representative Tom Cole (R-OK)
 Representative David Price (D-NC)


 Senator Tom Udall (D-NM)
 Representative Michael Grimm (R-NY)


 Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
 Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
 Representative John Lewis (D-GA)
 Representative David McKinley (R-WV)


 Senator Richard Burr (R-NC)
 Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
 Representative Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
 Representative Aaron Schock (R-IL)


 Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
 Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
 Representative Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
 Representative John Larson (D-CT)
 Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
 Representative Mike Simpson (R-ID)


 Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN) 
 Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
 Senator George Voinovich (R-OH)
 Representative Betty McCollum (D-MN) 
 Representative Todd Platts (R-PA),
 Representative Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
 Representative Paul Tonko (D-NY)


 Senator Michael Enzi (R-WY)
 Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA) 
 Representative Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)